Board of Trustees

High Point Academy is a non-profit independent school governed by a Board of Trustees. The Board is comprised of dedicated volunteers who are passionate about High Point Academy’s mission and its provision of an education centered on academic excellence. High Point Academy seeks to diversify its Board with current and alumni parents, community members, independent school administrators, and the Head of School. The Trustees bring broad and deep experience in the areas of: Accounting, Finance and Investment, Law, Real Estate, Human Resources, Fundraising and Development, Marketing and Technology.

Members are elected by the Board of Trustees for a three-year term, and can be re-elected for one additional three-year term.

Board Responsibilities

The Board is responsible for hiring and evaluating the Head of School, overseeing the long-range strategic planning and the financial viability of the School, adherence to High Point Academy’s mission and philosophy, and the governance of policy. The Head of School is responsible for school leadership including hiring and supervision of staff, community relations and resources, instructional programs, and fiscal and operational oversight.

HPA Trustees are entrusted with preserving the HPA Mission and its core educational values. Trustees have a legal and financial fiduciary responsibility to the school and, importantly, must have a profound understanding of the school’s character and identity, in order to champion High Point Academy today and also visualize and actualize its future. Simply put, the role of the Board of Trustees is to focus on strategic goals, not on the day-to-day operational decisions made by the Head of School, administrators, and faculty.

2023-2024 Board of Trustees

(See committee key below for committee designations; P=parent followed by child’s graduation year)

Joseph Campanella - Head of School

Martha Ambros

John Atienza

Peter Bachmann

Juan Gomez-Novy - Buildings & Grounds Chair
Joe Kaufman - Board Affairs Chair 
Virginia (Ginny) King - Finance Committee Chair/Treasurer
Gina Lee - Strategic Planning Chair/DEIB Chair
Sally Jeanne Mckenna 
Norma Richman - Board Secretary
Sherrie Singer - Board Chair
Heidi Smith-Parker - Development Chair
Ken Woo 
James Yin

Board of Trustees / Committees

(1) Executive
(2) Finance
(3) Development
(4) Buildings & Grounds
(5) Board Affairs
(6) Strategic Planning and Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, & Belonging (DEIB)